The EcoWongs

Thoughts, Aspirations, and Projects of the Wong Clan

What do you do with leftover dough? January 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — gnowetan @ 9:04 pm
Tags: , , ,

I made another round of English Muffins (this round turned out much better than the last), but I ended up with a ball of dough that I didn’t quite know what to do with.  So I began to improvise.

I kneaded it down and cut a bunch of little english muffins (bite size) and cooked those up as per the larger ones.  The remainder of the dough I formed into a little boule, and pressed some thyme, parsley, and basil into the crust.  All of these went into the oven and we crossed our fingers.

The result:

And the english nuggets:

The little loaf was pretty tasty, but the crumb didn’t quite have the “spring” that my loaves usually do.  As for the nuggets, I should have stayed the course and kept them in the pan.  By placing them in the oven, I turned them into little pebbles.  The inside is nice and fluffy, but the crust is pretty dang hard.

Oh, well. Waste not, want not.

 

One Response to “What do you do with leftover dough?”

  1. pauline Says:

    could be handy to have a few of those nuggets in the diaper bag! you can toss one at Emmett when he gets the munchies in the middle of an outing


Leave a Reply

